Posted on

Her Joy

by Jeff Glovsky

At 4pm, muffins go on sale … Rolls and croissants, baked breakfast sweets.  The discounts wake my office up …

I reach into my pocket, dig out a dollar to pick up a chocolate croissant … and as I’m inching on line toward the “day-old” case, an Indian woman squeals loudly.

“Oh, I can’t believe!” yelps she (she elbowing into line before me) … “Never do find chocolate here!”

She’s seized the last chocolate croissant in her sights, and hastens toward it selfishly.

“It’s mine,” think I … my fear and deflation deeper than the joy she seeps.  I’m hoping she might trip and fall (or lose a sandal running) and I advance myself, eyeing the treat.  She’s cut in line before me though, and no one stands a chance …

She wins!

She snatches the last chocolate croissant, she pulls it to her, beams and dances.

“You lucked out,” I (silent sighing) tell her, plastic smile pasted.

“Yes, I did!” she’s raised her eyes to God.  She cries, “I surely did!”

About Jeff Glovsky

Dividing his time between New York City and Munich, Germany, Jeff Glovsky is a Writer, Photographer, business partner / entrepreneur and AV / presentation support guy with a live sound engineering background.